top of page
  • prismpaperbacks

Just Another Epic Love Poem by Parisa Akhbari: Beautiful & Heart Shattering Coming of Age Story




This book was on my March release list and it delivered on all of my expectations. The beautiful writing and storytelling came together to form my favourite spring release in 2024. Stick around and I’ll give you the lowdown on what makes Parisa Akhbari’s debut novel a must-read!



Synopsis

Mitra is senior in high school, and for the past five years, she has known two constants, her best friend Bea Ortega and The Book— a collection of notebooks that she and Bea have been exchanging poems in since they were thirteen. The rules of The Book are simple: No lies, no secrets, no fighting, and no punctuation. Nothing is too messy or too complicated for The Book. Not Mitra’s convoluted feelings about her absent mother or Bea’s heartache over her recent breakup. 


Nothing except for the fact that Mitra is helplessly in love with Bea. 


Balancing crushes, high school, college applications, and the ever-looming dread of the future, can Mitra find a way to make it to the future she’s dreamed about? 




A Ride I Wasn’t Ready For

I have to be honest. I completely missed the part of the synopsis where Mitra’s mother is absent. I was really caught up in the prospect of Mitra and Bea getting together. And it turns out that Mitra’s mother, Jaleh, is a huge part of the story. Jaleh is an addict. Mitra’s father moved her and her sister far away from their mother so they could have a better life away from her. I wasn’t ready for how much I would relate to this part of Mitra’s story. I wasn’t ready to feel everything I felt with this book. 


Mitra harbours a lot of anger toward her mother and what she did to their family. When Jaleh comes barreling back into their lives after five years, Mitra is angry and pushes her away. She, understandably, wants nothing to do with her mom. On top of all this, Bea and Mitra start dating and college is on the horizon. There’s just so much going on for Mitra! How is she supposed to handle it all? 





Mitra and Bea have been planning to go to UW in Seattle for years, but as the story goes on, Mitra’s life seems to be veering off her perfectly planned path and into the unknown. It’s terrifying and she fights to stay on the path she’s been building for years. 


Oh boy, I did not expect to connect to this book so much. An absent parent, life plans going off the rails, and a sassy younger sister? It’s like Parisa took 18 year-old me and made her Iranian and really into poetry. Mitra’s feelings toward her mother and the development of their relationship made me tear up. Akhbari took everything that I’ve felt and put it into the words I could never find. It’s become a book that I will treasure for a long time.



Beautifully Lyrical and Descriptive

One thing I will say about Just Another Epic Love Poem is that if you don’t like big, long paragraphs describing one feeling, this is not the book for you. Akhbari describes everything Mitra sees and feels in such a descriptive way that I really connect and feel what she’s feeling. It made the intensity of her emotions all the more tangible. 


It’s also very poetic! Which makes sense considering Mitra is a poet. If a poet didn’t think and write like Mitra, I don’t think I would really believe they were a poet! She has such a beautiful view of the world (and of Bea 🤭) that it pulls you into her world as you read.




LGBTQIA+ Rep

The rep in this book is really great. Mitra and Bea aren’t the only queer people in the book and while Bea is a big part of the story, their sexuality isn’t. This isn’t a story about an Iranian girl coming out to her conservative family. This is a story about a bisexual woman coming of age with problems that expand past her sexual identity. If you need a break from the same old story of pining after someone the main character thinks isn’t queer like them, then pick up Just Another Epic Love Poem today! 


Final Thoughts

I was really excited for this book when I first found out about it. I love lyrical prose and sweet love stories! The poems exchanged by Bea and Mitra throughout the book add to the already fantastic reading experience that comes with this book. While I wasn’t expecting to see myself in Mitra as much as I did, it only made me fall for the book more. I highly recommend you pick up Parisa Akhbari’s debut novel and follow her on Instagram to see what she’ll bring us next! 


 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What book should I read next? Let me know in the comments below or on Instagram!




1 view0 comments

Be the First to Know

Join our email list to be the first to hear about new reviews

Thanks for submitting!

© 2025 by Prism Paperbacks. Powered and secured by Wix

  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • X
bottom of page